March 16, 2013 Council Special Meeting DRAFT

CITY OF SHORELINE

SHORELINE CITY COUNCIL SUMMARY MINUTES OF SPECIAL MEETING

Saturday, March 16, 2013 Conference Room C-104 - Shoreline City Hall 8:30 a.m. 17500 Midvale Ave North

PRESENT: Three-member Council subcommittee: Councilmember Doris

McConnell, Councilmember Christopher Roberts, and

Councilmember Shari Winstead

STAFF: Lynn Peterson, PRCS Administrative Assistant III and Clerk Pro

Tempore

At 8:30 a.m., Dick Deal, Parks, Recreation and Cultural Services Director, provided a brief overview of the Board's duties and responsibilities. At 8:45 a.m., the Councilmembers determined the sequence of the interviews: each interview would last 15 minutes, followed by up to 10 minutes of committee debriefing. A council member would escort the interviewees into and out of the room at the assigned time.

From 8:50 a.m. to approximately 2:00 p.m. the subcommittee interviewed the following eleven candidates: Christine Southwick, Al Wagar, John Hoey, Lynda Hart, Jesse Sycuro, Stanley Peterman, Heidi Farlow, Betsy Robertson, Boni Biery, Greg Kulseth, Garry Lingerfelt. One candidate who was scheduled to be interviewed, Cynthia Knox, did not appear.

At the conclusion of the interviews, the subcommittee members discussed their preferences for which candidates to recommend to the full Council. There was unanimous agreement that the subcommittee should recommend to the full Council that Jesse Sycuro be reappointed to the PRCS/Tree Board. There was also unanimous agreement to eliminate Boni Biery from further consideration. After some discussion the subcommittee reached unanimous consensus to recommend the following new applicants to the PRCS/Tree Board: Christine Southwick, John Hoey, Betsy Robertson and Garry Lingerfelt.

Councilmember Roberts agreed to draft an email to the City Manager and PRCS Director informing them of the subcommittee's decision. The subcommittee adjourned at 2:30 p.m.

Lynn Peterson/Administrative Assistant III/PRCS City Clerk Pro Tempore