January 28, 2014

The Honorable Rodney Tom Senate Majority Leader PO Box 40448, Olympia, WA 98504

The Honorable Mark Schoesler Senate Republican Leader PO Box 40409, Olympia, WA 98504

The Honorable Sharon Nelson Senate Democratic Leader PO Box 40434, Olympia, WA 98504

Dear Majority Leader Tom, Republican Leader Schoesler, and Democratic Leader Nelson:

We are writing as a group of mayors, urging you to seize the opportunity to use broad-based, bipartisan support to enact a comprehensive transportation package.

Transportation is a jobs issue, a congestion relief issue, a movement of people-and-goods issue, a multi-modal issue – and above all, a historically bi-partisan issue. The "Nickel" and Transportation Partnership Act (TPA) packages of 2003 and 2005 included support from members of both parties – a testament to the fact that transportation infrastructure investment is a foundation of our economy and our ability to stay competitive as a state.

In 2013, the House passed a package, and the Senate proposed a package, that had many common elements: maintenance and preservation; completing major projects; congestion relief; local distribution and local options; and connecting key manufacturing and goods-to-market centers with our ports. Our state has a common and critical stake in ensuring that local jurisdictions can make vital investments in streets and roads, that multi-modal needs are attended to, and that all our roadways are maintained so that the infrastructure we all own does not deteriorate.

There is an unmistakable connection between our state's economy and making a critical down-payment on our transportation needs. We strongly urge you to come together and pass a Senate proposal that focuses on comprehensive transportation investment, opening the door for full "5 Corners" negotiation and adoption of a final package.

Sincerely,

Nancy Backos Mayor, Aubum

Claudia Balducci Mayor, Bellevue

Dave Gordon Mayor, Black Diamond Pat Johnson Mayor, Buckley

Mayor, Backley

Lucy Krakewial Mayor, Burien

George Martin Mayor, Clyde Hill Craig George Mayor, Dayton

Dave Kaplan Mayor, Des Moines

Will Ibershof Mayor, Duvall

David Earling Vern Little Mayor, Edmonds Mayor, Remdond Mayor, Lake Stevens Ray Stephanson Mayor, Everett Don Anderson Maxor, Lakewood Mayor, Renton Tom Vance Jim/Ferrell Don Jensen Mayor, Federal Way Mayor, Longivew ( Mayor, Sammamish Jon Nehring Mia Gregerson Mayor, SeaTac Fred Butler Mayor, Marysville Mayor, Issaquah Shari Winstead David Baker Mayor, Mountlake Terrace Mayor, Shoreline Mayor, Kenmore Jennifer Gregerson Sazette Cook Mayor, Kent Jim Haggerton Mayor, Tukwila Mayor, Mukilteo Leanne Guier Amy Waler Tim Leavitt Mayor, Pacific Mayor, Vancouver Mayor, Kirkland John Knutsen Andy Ryder Walt Gobel

Mayor, Puyallup

Mayor, Waitsburg

Mayor, Lacey