

SHORELINE CITY COUNCIL

Will Hall Mayor Keith Scully Deputy Mayor Susan Chang Doris McConnell Keith A. McGlashan Chris Roberts Betsy Robertson April 7, 2021

The Honorable Steve Hobbs Chair, Senate Transportation Committee

The Honorable Rebecca Saldaña Vice Chair, Senate Transportation Committee

The Honorable Jake Fey Chair, House Transportation Committee

The Honorable Sharon Wylie First Vice Chair, House Transportation Committee

Dear Senator Hobbs, Senator Saldaña, Representative Fey, and Representative Wylie,

On behalf of the City of Shoreline, I am writing for two reasons: First, to express our deepest thanks for identifying Shoreline's 148th Street Non-Motorized Bridge Project as a candidate for funding in a statewide funding package; and second, to add our voice to the chorus calling for a such a package to come together this year. In addition to the clear benefits to our community, a bold infrastructure package will support job creation and recovery across the state; putting folks to work, moving goods more effectively and efficiently, and ensuring mobility for our essential workers.

The array of transportation proposals that have been unveiled this session demonstrate fundamental bipartisan agreement on the need for this investment. You all know the sad truth that our state faced transportation funding gaps prior to the pandemic and those challenges have only been exacerbated in the wake of the pandemic. While we appreciate that you are planning to use federal money to patch holes in the current transportation budget, this action falls short of addressing the significant need in Shoreline and in our statewide transportation network. As we head into the final weeks of session, we urge you to find agreement on a comprehensive transportation funding package before *sine die*. If there is anything I or the City can do to assist you in this effort, please do not hesitate to let me know.

Sincerely,

Will-Hall

Mayor Will Hall City of Shoreline

cc: Senator Jesse Salomon Senator David Frockt Representative Cindy Ryu Representative Lauren Davis Representative Javier Valdez Representative Gerry Pollett.